Northern Lights Academy

Location
302 14th Street
Cloquet, MN 55720
218-878-3060
fax: 218-878-3061

Contacts
Barb Mackey x8000, Assistant Special Education Director (bmackey@nlacoop.org)
Emily Brown x8004, Special Education Teacher(ebrown@nlacoop.org)
Amelia Calverley x8006, Direct 878-3062, Special Education Teacher (acalverley@nlacoop.org)
Morgan Warbalow x8005, Special Education Teacher (mwarbalow@nlacoop.org)
Lisa Dalbec x8004, Social Worker (ldalbec@nlacoop.org)
Tisha Warbalow x8001, Administrative Assistant (twarbalow@nlacoop.org
Griffin Thorne x8003, Special Education Teacher (gthorne@nlacoop.org)


Mission Statement

The Northern Lights Academy (NLA) mission is to support children and youth with significant emotional and behavioral needs, as well as those with low incidence disabilities. We provide academic, social and functional skill development, and mental health services to students from the member school districts of The Northern Lights Special Education Cooperative.

Our goal is to foster learning, promote independence, cultivate social and behavior skills, work in partnerships with families, and support students to become successful learners in their least restrictive environment, as well as active, productive members of our communities.


2019-20 School Year Information

For the 2019-20 school year, the NLA will offer Setting 4 Special Education programs for up to 34 students in grades K-8, who need an alternative educational placement. Contact your school's principal for more information.


2019-2020 NLA Board Meetings

  • August 8, 2019 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • September 6, 2019 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • October 4, 2019 * 10:30 - 12:00 PM * NLSEC Conference Room
  • November 7, 2019 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • December 13, 2019 10:30 - 12:00 PM * NLSEC Conference Room
  • January 3, 2020 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • February 7, 2020 10:30 - 12:00 PM * NLSEC Conference Room
  • March 5, 2020 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • April 2, 2020 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts
  • May 8, 2020 * 10:30 - 12:00 PM * NLSEC Conference Room
  • June 5, 2020 * 9:00 - 9:30 AM * Google Hangouts

NLA District Policies